Five Finger Death Punch – The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell, Vol. 1

First off, I must be honest here. I am NOT a fan of this band. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why this band is so popular. Is it the music? The lyrics? The drumming? I don’t know. Anyways, 5FDP is back! And they assault us with 14 new tracks, with the lead single being a track called “Lift Me Up”, with guest vocals from the metal God himself, Rob Halford. Upon first listen, the vocal melody sounds like The Ultimate Sin, by Ozzy.  I’m surprised Halford didn’t realize this, and decline to participate.  But he did. It’s an okay track, certainly nothing new, and the presence of Halford doesn’t do anything to enhance it.

Other “highlights” of the disc are duets with Jamey Jasta from Hatebreed, (Dot Your Eyes), Max Cavalera from Soulfly, (I.M. Sin), and Maria Brink from In This Moment, (Anywhere But Here). There is also a duet with Tech- nine for a cover of “Mama Said Knock You Out”, and I’m not sure what is going on there, as half the verses are missing from the song. Did they only want to cover HALF the song?

Anyways, if you’re a fan, I’m sure you’ll like this disc, as it is full of yelling, screaming, swearing, and endless diatribes about how someone did me wrong, and I’m gonna get you back for what you did to me……They certainly don’t break any new ground here, and maybe that’s for the best. 4/10.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-2yuGgp_U8

 

Leave a Reply

